Kosher Tequila Blanco
4 Copas Tequila is not only certified as organic by the USDA and EU but is also blessed as Kosher by Rabbinical Law.
What is Kosher?
A kosher food or product means that it complies with all the dietary requirements of the Jewish Law. Whether a food is Kosher or not depends on the source of the ingredients and the production equipment.
How does this apply to Tequila?
In theory, raw agave is kosher, but the Kashrus states that the plants should be free of infestation. That means that the plants must be thoroughly checked for insects before using. Even if the ingredients are Kosher, the equipment used must be Kosher as well. This means that non-Kosher food was never used in that equipment. To make a non-Kosher equipment Kosher again, one must sanitize it in a specific way under the supervision of a trained Rabbi.
Though Kosher is based on the Jewish religion, their demand on how to process food appeals to anyone who finds the ingredients and production of food as important as the taste.